top of page

The Graduate Program in Pharmacology and Medicinal Chemistry (PPGFQM) celebrates in 2019 forty-five years of its creation. Initially named Graduate Program in Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, it was restructured in 2008 aiming to modernize and bring together two key disciplines to the process of drug discovery and development (DDD), Pharmacology and Medicinal Chemistry. The PPGFQM is the first postgraduate course in Latin America with such approach and objectives. PPGFQM is essentially interdisciplinary and contributes to the formation of qualified human resources in academia drug discovery, trying to reverse the Brazil's technological dependence on Drugs and Medicines.  The research carried out at PPGFQM goes through the stages of new targets identification and validation, mechanism of action studies, drug design, and hit-to lead optimization until preclinical studies. The mosaic of knowledge required to achieve these goals demand continual updating and collaboration with researchers on academia and pharmaceutical sector.

In this scenario, the 2nd International Symposium on Pharmacology and Medicinal Chemistry was proposed not only to celebrate the 45-year jubilee of the existence of our Graduate Program, but also to trace new scientific partnerships and to diagnose the challenges to be faced by PPGFQM after ten years of its restructuring.


Lídia Moreira Lima

President of the 2nd International Symposium on

Pharmacology and Medicinal Chemistry

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
Logo ICB50anos final.jpg

Thematic Sections Speakers

Highlights in Medicinal Chemistry     

Chair – Dr. Lídia M. Lima                                   

Highlights in Molecular Pharmacology        

Chair – Dr. Marco Aurelio Martins                                   

Round Table

Prospect and Future for the Brazilian National Graduate Program

Chair – Dr. Eliezer J. Barreiro 

Best Thesis Award & Celebration of the 45 years of PPGFQM

Sérgio Henrique Ferreira Conference

Chair – Dr. Patrícia M. R. S. Martins

PPGFQM Best Thesis Diploma Conference

Chair – Dr. Patrícia Dias Fernandes


Registration deadline extended to November 20th, 2019!

Participants are welcome to share your scientific results as

Poster or Oral Presentation.

Please submit your Abstract at the end of the registration form.

Additional informations about abstract submission on the link below:


Professor Almir Fraga Valladares Auditorium

Centro de Ciências da Saúde - Bloco N, 2nd floor

Professor Rodolpho Paulo Rocco Street, 373
Cidade Universitária – Ilha do Fundão

Rio de Janeiro – Brazil

(GPS S 22°50'26", W 43°14'05")



bottom of page